Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Filter by Custom Post Type
< Back

Last month, our Sage 300 CRE Tip and Trick discussed the benefits of archiving data on a regular basis and demonstrated how to move master file information (using JC as an example) from the master file in the live data folder to the master file in the archive data folder.  This month’s Tip and Trick will review the workflow to physically move transactions from the current file to the history file, and optionally, to the history file of the archive folder.

As a reminder, before you archive your data:

  1. BACK UP your data folder(s).
  2. Make sure that your login has the necessary permissions (both in Sage 300 CRE and on the network) to perform an archiving task.  This includes menu commands within Sage and access to destination locations within your server.
  3. Assess the time it will take to archive.  Since you must close ALL Sage 300 CRE applications before you archive (and not just the application you will be working in), consider archiving in small manageable chunks and perhaps after regular business hours.
  4. Consider running the File Doctor tool to identify any potential issues with your transaction files before you begin the archiving process.

Each Sage 300 CRE application (with the exception of Address Book (AB) and Billing (BL)) has a tool to move data.  In this example, we will once again look at Job Cost (JC).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Move Transactions:

Use the Move Transactions tool to move old transactions.  In this article, we will demonstrate TWO moves:

  • from current.jct to history.jct in the same data folder
  • from history.jct in the current data folder to history.jct in an archive data folder,

REMINDER:     Before moving a job and/or its transactions, post any remaining costs and billings associated with the job, and then change the job status to Closed. After you move the job, you cannot post transactions to it.

Current to History – same data folder

When you click on Move>Transactions>Current to History, the following dialog box will open if this is your first time moving transactions.                                                   Click on OK and the following window will appear

MAKE SURE to always use Conditions or Ranges to filter the data you wish to move.  Not doing this will move ALL of the transactions in the current file.  Some of the more common filters used are:

  • Job Status is equal to ‘Closed” (if, say, you have not yet moved jobs to an archive folder and have just marked them as CLOSED, as noted above).
  • Job is equal to “specific job #”.  You can also use the RANGE button here to move multiple jobs’ transactions at the same time.
  • Transaction Date or Accounting Date is less than (or less than or equal to) xx/yy/zz.  Though not common, this has been done in instances of very large jobs spanning multiple years.  Just make sure that the the current AND history files are highlighted when running job cost reports to assure that all transactions have been selected.

When processing is done, a batch output report will automatically print (or be saved to a designated print file) documenting how many transactions have been moved from Source to Destination.

History to History – different data folder

When you click on Move>Transactions>History to History, the following dialog box will open

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please note that, by default, the Destination File Selection window opens with your live data folder as selected (notice the HISTORY.JCT file that was created previously).  If you forget to change the data folder in the “Look in:” window at the top to your archived data folder, you will receive the following message:

“Destination directory must be different from source directory.”

By navigating to the location where your archive folder is located, you will get the following window or windows if this is the first time you are looking for the history.jct file in the archive folder:

Click on YES to create the file and then revisit the use of the RANGE or CONDITION buttons before starting the move process.  One of the benefits that you may experience if you do a “double move” of your JC transactions (i.e., from current to history in the same data folder and then from history to history in the archived folder) is not having to range or condition the second move.  Most likely you will want to move EVERYTHING from history (live) to history (archive).  Just know that you can always use the RANGE or CONDITION buttons to filter moves.

When processing is done, a batch output report will automatically print (or be saved to a designated print file) documenting how many transactions have been moved from Source to Destination.

Finally, a brief word on moving old Commitments.  Like Jobs, commitments are master file data and move the same way that jobs are moved:  from the live data folder to the archive data folder.  Refer to last month’s Tip and Trick article for details about that.

As always, should you need any further assistance with archiving your data, please call your United Solutions, Inc. consultant.

Want Exclusive Sage Tips?
Join Our eNewsletter
Get Sage promotions, events and updates delivered straight to your inbox!
Subscribe
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.
close-link
X