Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Filter by Custom Post Type
< Back

Last month, our Sage 300 CRE tip and trick demonstrated how to create an archive data folder as a repository for old transactions. This month’s tip and trick will review the workflow to physically move old data into this newly created folder.

But first, a few words about archiving. Why should we do it on a regular basis?

First, it reduces file size, which reduces processing time and report generation time. Second, it reduces the time requirements when you are performing data file upgrades after installing new software releases. Third, inquiry research time is reduced because there are fewer transactions to scroll through.

While it can be satisfactorily achieved at any user workstation, for best performance, all archiving should be performed at your file server. Also, complete the following before you archive your data:
1. BACK UP your data folder(s). This item is discussed in further detail in the last paragraph below.
2. Make sure that your login has the necessary permissions (both in Sage 300 CRE and on the network) to perform an archiving task. This includes menu commands within Sage and access to destination locations within your server.
3. Assess the time it will take to archive. Since you must close ALL Sage 300 CRE applications before you archive (and not just the application you will be working in), consider archiving in small manageable chunks and perhaps after regular business hours.
4. Consider running the File Doctor tool to identify any potential issues with your transaction files before you begin the archiving process.

Each Sage 300 CRE application (with the exception of Address Book (AB) and Billing (BL)) has a tool to move data. In this example, we will look at Job Cost (JC).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Move Jobs:
Use the Move Jobs tool to move closed and outdated jobs to an archive data folder, which also moves the associated extra, cost code, category, draw, changes order, compliance, and custom field records.

Before moving a job, post any remaining costs and billings associated with the job, and then change the job status to Closed. After you move the job, you cannot post transactions to it. Since Jobs are maintained in a master file (master.jct), moving jobs MUST involve the use of an archive folder because each data folder can only have ONE master file per application. Jobs that have been moved to an archive folder can be moved back to the live data folder as long as the job ID was not reused.

When you click on MOVE JOBS, a dialog box opens with the following question:
“When jobs are moved, their associated compliance items are also moved, even if these items are out of compliance. Do you want to continue?” Click on YES to continue. NO will terminate this task.

If Yes, the following window appears (labeled as “Move Jobs – Destination File Selection”).

 

 

 

 

 

Note that the Look in: field references your current directory. You need to change this by browsing to the archived folder you created – the destination file. If you get a message that the MASTER.jct file does not exist in the destination folder, click [Yes] to create the file.

Once you accomplish that, the following window appears:

 

 

 

 

If you wish to move ALL of the jobs’ commitments as well, check the box noted above. My preference here is to NOT check the box regarding Commitments and just focus on jobs to be moved. Commitments can be moved later on, as a separate task.

To only move specific jobs, you have two options:
a Click [Ranges].
b In the Job Range Selection window, select the jobs or range of jobs to move.
c Click [OK].

To only move jobs that meet specific conditions, such as jobs that are closed:
a Click [Conditions].
b In the Add Condition window in the list in the Field area, select Status.
c In the Operator area, select Equal to.
d In the Value area, select Closed.
e Click [OK].
f In the Condition Selection window, click [OK].

BE CAREFUL: If you do not select ranges or conditions, ALL jobs will be moved to the archive folder.

Click [Start] to begin the move process. Once completed, review the journal that gets generated to verify that the correct jobs were moved. As an optional step, you can compact your master.jct file using the File Doctor tool.

Before you begin archiving any data, CREATE A BACKUP of your Sage 300 CRE data folder(s). The Backup tool is very easy to use and provides protection (in the form of a file that can be RESTORED should something go wrong during archiving). You can find the Backup task in: Common Tasks>Tools>File Tools. This is preferred to relying on your system wide server backup, which may be more complicated to restore should something go wrong.

As always, should you need any further assistance with archiving your data, please call your United Solutions, Inc. consultant.

Want Exclusive Sage Tips?
Join Our eNewsletter
Get Sage promotions, events and updates delivered straight to your inbox!
Subscribe
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.
close-link
X